Reviews

What others are saying about

Umthunzi Hotel & Conference

Would just like to express a massive thank you for your services in making our event so worth while. The feedback was great and everyone loved the food as well as the atmosphere of Umthunzi. We really appreciate the effort put in and attitude of your team.

Rachil

Oct 2017, (Email)

The staff was very friendly, from Reception, restaurant and cleaning staff. The food was good. The bed was very comfortable. Rooms are very clean and spacious. It’s right by the beach so the view is amazing. Only wish I was there for more than one night. Will definitely come back with the kids

Lerato

Sept 2017, (5* TripAdvisor review)

I stayed on the top floor of the front row of rooms – Room 12. It had a great view of the sea and dolphins in the morning. The food was outstanding and the room great. I walked to the beach twice which is just 5 minutes away. Very impressed.

Brent B

Aug 2017, (5* Tripadvisor review)

What an amazing experience at an affordable price… Somebody pinch me to see if I’m not dreaming. I’m definitely coming back again

Robinson Mary

Jan 2017, (5* Facebook review)

Thank you for the great hospitality. What I experienced is what a hotel experience should be and the true meaning of hospitality.

Nkosinathi

July 2017, Guest email

Just want to give feed back and say thanks to yourself and your team. The management team enjoyed the dinner and top class service and was very impressed with your establishment. Thank you for your support and effort to always accommodate where possible and assisting us with our request. Truly appreciated .

Andries Welgemoed,

August 2016, (Coca-Cola Function)

I just wanted to say thank you so much to you and the staff of Umthunzi everything went on so well this weekend. My mum and I really enjoyed ourselves. The room, the food and everything was perfect. Thank you once again for accommodating us.

Shanice Pillay

Sept 2016, (Leisure Guest)

The Sunday lunches are fabulous. Worth every cent!

Ingrid Troskie

March 2016, (Facebook Review)

I just want to take this opportunity to thank you guys. What beautiful, spacious, clean rooms! Not forgetting to mention breakfast and dinner! We had such a pleasant stay. Looking forward to our next visit. Keep up the excellent service standards. Thanks a million

Sibongile Hlela

October 2015, (SA Venues review. Leisure Guest)

The event was very nicely put together with great service, food and exceptional facility settings. Thank you Umthunzi for giving the South Coast a landmark!

Ellen Herbst

Sept 2015, (Facebook comment. Guest at fund raising dinner)

I highly recommend this resort and our family will definitely be going back. It is our new ‘home away from home’ holiday destination. The sheer etiquette of staff was most courteous and accommodating with a real family feel welcome. The cooking is divine. Our room with king size bed had an absolutely breath-taking view…a most tranquil setting. Definitely a winner!

Pooven & Yeshni Govender

July 2015, (Family fishing weekend guests)

A VERY big thank you to Umthunzi Hotel for making our wedding day a success! Also thank you to Ryan, all the chefs & staff members for working on our special day!

Sakkie & Lucy Mahlumba

June 2015, (Wedding couple)

Was there in February. I must say I enjoyed my stay, stunning place!!

Amanda Mandy Wanda

April 2015 , (Facebook comment)

Most amazing place on the coast! !!!! I recommend anyone to go and relax at this beautiful place!!!!!

Bianca Jc Buys

March 2015 , (Facebook comment)

Amazing place. We really had a lovely time.

Hlumela Sontshatsha

March 2015 , (Facebook)

One of South Coast’s best kept secrets. 10 stars for : food, layout, comfort, management and staff.

Zimbini

February 2015 , (Bookings.com. 10 star review)

A lovely venue. The staff are great, very helpful. The place is very clean, upmarket and the food is amazing! We felt very comfortable here and will be back. Thank you for the much needed break.

Daniela Bascelli

December 2014 , (4 star Facebook review. Leisure guest)

Amazing facilities, beautiful Wedding venue and friendly and extremely helpful staff.

Tammy McCarter

January 2015 , (5 star Facebook review)

We came through to the Hotel for a conference, very comfortable & enjoyed our time there, well situated close to the beach for time to relax. Had all we needed in our room, & conference hall set up well.

Uandyl

Sept 2017, (4* TripAdvisor review)

I travel alot and my visit twice a year to Umthunzi Hotel is one i always look forward to. It is beautiful, comfortable and well designed.

The rooms are superb!!!! Spacious and most importantly CLEAN! Amenities are always available!

The Staff are extremely dedicated, polite, friendly and cater for all your needs!
Excellent Service

Chere

Aug 2017, (5* TripAdvisor review)

Thank you to Ryan and all his staff for a wonderful and outstanding service yesterday during our Christmas function. The food was divine and the food outstanding. The venue and hospitality of your establishment made our day extra special. We will definitely recommend it to everyone to enjoy.

Shirley vd Berg

Nov 2016, (5* Facebook review)

A very big and special thanks to Ryan and Umthunzi for your generous sponsorship in this year’s Festival of Golf which helped to make the event an even bigger success that it has been in the past. And as for the food on the 14th……..YUM!!!

Lyn Mol

Sept 2016, (PSCC Golfer)

Kan nie vir jou se hoeveel komplimente daar oor julle plek uitgespreek is nie! Die kos, personeel, al die reeliings!!! Nogmaals dankie, julle sien ons defenitief weer.

Hettie Fordred

July 2016, Marriage Seminar

Thank you Ryan – our lunch was fabulous and the service marvelous. Thanks so much!!

Ideal Homes Year End Party

Nov 2015, (Facebook comment for 30° SOUTH Restaurant)

We wish to express our appreciation for the kindness, friendliness, patience and understanding shown by management and all the staff. A special thanks goes to Anri and Robyn for your support, co-operation and personal attention with co-ordinating our stay and conferencing. Your excellent service has impressed us all and we will most definitely recommend your hotel to our colleagues and friends.Looking forward to meeting and spending time at your place very soon.

Lt Colonel Paul Alfred

Feb 2016, (SAPS Conference)

If you have not been to Umthunzi, hurry. You are missing out. My daughter had her wedding there as well. The people working there are awesome, especially Anri. They also have the best chef ever. Phone for a booking!

Elza Steyn

October 2015, (Wedding and restaurant guest)

Many thanks once again for superb delivery of service to our clients and Exco team They really were impressed with the event, considered the best of the 5 functions hosted around KZN. Well done to all @ Umthunzi!!!!

Wendy Bishop

Sept 2-15, (FNB lunch for private banking clients)

A very big thank you to Ryan Ringo & the Umthunzi team for the amazing service, best food, beautiful venue. My CANSA evening event was a huge success – thanks to you and your staff!

Chantelle Maree

Sept 2015 , (Mrs SA Finalist, fund raising event. 5* Facebook review)

Sunday Carvery was amazing!! We’re not even going to have dinner because the food was SO nice, thank you!

Rodney & Peppy Marillier

June 2015, (30° SOUTH patrons)

Thanks for a delicious Mothers Day Lunch. The ‘Mothers’ in my life really enjoyed it. Will definitely be back.

Denzil Moonsamy

May 2015 , (Facebook review)

What a beautiful place, great service. We had a fab tym there for Easter weekend, twas awesome can’t wait to visit again. Thanx guyz.

Phumzile Maphum Majozi

April 2015, (Facebook review)

Our stay was beyond fabulous. Staff, and everything was beyond amazing. We only had one day but we enjoy every minute of it. We are coming back for a full weekend.

Nelly

March 2015 , (Bookings.com. 10 star review)

Ayive iyinhle leyondawo sengike ngaya kuyona last year November – its awesome

Lungile Mahlaba

February 2015 , (Facebook comment)

Incredible view and stunning room! The food was out of this world! Amazing staff! Looking forward to our next visit!

Jolene Potgieter

November 2014 , (5 star Facebook review)

Checked in on the 24th December and have never had such a good time, warm welcome. The staff is amazing, big up to Sandisiwe at the reception and Ryan the manager. The Xmas lunch was exceedingly amazing!!!! Thanks to you all

Sthoko Nikwe

December 2014 , (5 star Facebook review. Leisure Guest)

I came from Zambia and only arrived days before my wedding. Ryan and his amazing staff had done everything according to how I wanted it. I would like to thank the entire team from Umthunzi, the ladies at the desk & to everyone that put in a hand to help. I recommend this place to anyone for any event.

Laetitia Baker

Jan 2017, (5* Facebook review)

Great venue! Excellent service, delicious food. Definitely worth the trip down the coast. Great for corporate groups.

Christel Radloff (Snazzi Events)

Oct 2016, (Facebook review)

THANK YOU to you and your team for a great few days. We did have an enjoyable stay and the team loved the venue and your hospitality. We will definitely consider your venue for our next conference. Please say a BIG Thank You to your bar staff (those two guys were great) and Prenolan

Rebecca Maduray

Oct 2016, (Bidvest Conference)

I have been into nice restaurants all over South Coast, but none of the places make nice food like 30° South.

Sthe Promice

April 2016, (Restaurant diner)

I would like to thank Umthunzi Hote on behalf of my colleagues who celebrated decade in the Department of Correctional Service. My colleagues loved your menu. For me it will be my routine as always to support you , whether it Sunday lunch or spending couple days in your hotel – because I have fond memories since my first day I entered your premises

Sandile Langazane

March 2016, (5* Facebook Review)

I would just like to say a BIG THANK YOU for hosting our Dinner last Friday night. We had a nice relaxing evening and the food and service was excellent!
We were well received at reception and well taken care of by the waitrons on the deck. They were friendly and most helpful. We will definitely be returning.

Jane Heydricks

November 2015, (Year End dinner for Heydricks Civils)

I just want to take this opportunity to thank you guys. What beautiful, spacious, clean rooms! Not forgetting to mention breakfast and dinner! We had such a pleasant stay. Looking forward to our next visit. Keep up the excellent service standards. Thanks a million

Sibongile Hlela

October 2015, (SA Venues review. Leisure Guest)

On behalf of my wife Sharmane and myself, we would like to send out our gratitude and thanks to Ryan and all of his team for making us feel like King and Queen for the past 4 days at the awesome Umthunzi Hotel. Our stay was very relaxing and enjoyable and was made even better by all the staff, especially Joseph, who got a great deal of exercise. You have an awesome set up in a stunning setting and we will be returning as soon as we possibly can. I will refer your hotel to all my friends on facebook and at the office. Thank you to all involved and we will see you soon.

Jason and Sharmane Kennedy

Sept 2015, (Leisure guests)

Thank you so much to Umthunzi Hotel for the amazing hosting, help and wonderful staff.. and for just being terrific in every way!

Daine Snyder

Sept 2015, (Mens breakfast function)

Thank you for the amazing stay we had at Umthunzi on Saturday night and the AWESOME breakfast on Sunday morning!

Lisa-Marie Watson

June 2015, (Facebook review)

Thank you for the great Mother’s Day meal. Well worth it

Daryl D’Arcy

May 2015, (Facebook review)

We went this Easter. Lovely food. Enjoyed our stay with my partner and kids.

Phindile Pru Zulu

April 2015 , (Facebook review)

I was there last week this place its amazing. I cant wait to go there on Easter holidays.

Sizwe Nsibande KwaNongoma Ekubungazeleni

March 2015, (Facebook comment)

An absolute gem of a hotel. The staff were wonderful and the hotel more than special. Staff went the extra mile. Peace & tranquillity. Close to the beach. Loved it.

Patrick

January 2015 , (Bookings.com. 10 star review)

This place was great, especially when you wanna get away from of it all. You’ll have your privacy, and the staff was superb also!

Bhekethemba Shezi

December 2014 , (5 star Facebook review. Leisure guest)

An Exclusively Upmarket, Affordable Venue

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This